2016 Reading Challenge (& 2015 Challenge Revisited)

So this post is a little late (almost a month into 2016 already??), but here is what I accomplished in the 2015 Reading Challenge:

  1. A Book You Own But Haven’t Read (There are literally piles of these at my house…evidently I couldn’t pick one!)
  2. A Book that was Made into a Movie Still Alice by Lisa Genova
  3. A Book You Pick Solely because of the Cover Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan
  4. A Book Your Friend Loves East of Eden by John Steinbeck
  5. A Book Published This Year Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee
  6. A Book by an Author You’ve Never Read Before In the Heart of the Sea: The Tragedy of the Whaleship Essex by Nathaniel Philbrick
  7. A Book by an Author You Love Pioneer Girl by Laura Ingalls Wilder
  8. A Book at the Bottom of Your “To Be Read” Pile Fever, 1793 by Laurie Halse Anderson
  9. A Book with a Color in the Title Gray Mountain by John Grisham
  10. A Book Set Somewhere You’ve Always Wanted to Visit The Second Empress by Michelle Moran
  11. A Book You Started but Never Finished (Again, literally piles of these. Sigh.)
  12. A Book with a Lion, a Witch, or a Wardrobe (I’m currently reading All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr, which most definitely has a wardrobe in it!)
  13. A Book with a Female Protagonist The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh
  14. A Book Set in the Summer Zeitoun by Dave Eggers
  15. A Book of Poems Julie Andrew’s Collection of Poems, Songs, and Lullabies selected by Julie Andrews and Emma Walton Hamilton
  16. A Book You Learned About Because of this Challenge The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
  17. A Book That Will Make You Smarter Killing Reagan by Bill O’Reilly
  18. A Book with a Blue Cover The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah
  19. A Book You Were Supposed to Read in School but You Didn’t (I’d like to say that I read everything I was assigned in school, but I’ll just say I read most!)
  20. A Book “Everyone” But You Has Read Wonder by R.J. Palacio (didn’t get a review written, but this would be a great read-aloud for older-elementary and maybe even junior high kids)
  21. A Book with a Great First Line (planned on reading some Thomas Hardy, but didn’t get to it)
  22. A Book with Pictures Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White
  23. A Book from the Library Death Comes to Pemberley by P.D. James
  24. A Book You Loved…Read it Again! Harry Potter (all of them) by J.K. Rowling (I reread all 7 books, and then watched all 8 movies, but didn’t review them! In a nutshell: excellent!)
  25. A Book that is More than 10 Years Old March by Geraldine Brooks
  26. A Book Based on a True Story The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd

I managed to read a book in 21 of the 26 categories, plus I blogged about several nonfiction picks here. I can definitely say that I read more than 26 books this year, which was my overall goal. I did enjoy having a framework to look at and I do think it helped me to make more varied choices.

My plan is to continue, and I will also try to make blog posts more frequent. I would love to have more posts like the nonfiction one where I can review multiple books at once. I’m working on a kid fiction/family read-aloud post currently. 🙂

Now, on to 2016!

I liked the list put together by Bringing Up Burns, so I’m going to use her list again this year. Some of the categories are the same, but there are lots of different ones too.

What are your favorite books you read this last year? I’d love some recommendations for my 2016 list!

Happy reading!

KB

One thought on “2016 Reading Challenge (& 2015 Challenge Revisited)

Leave a Reply

